First Reviews of ‘Wonder Woman’ Are In: Is it the Best DC Movie Yet?

The first reviews for “Wonder Woman” are out of this world, with critics declaring it the best DC comic book movie yet. They’re also comparing Gal Gadot‘s Amazon warrior to Christopher Reeve’s iconic Superman.

Of course, being better than the critically reviled “Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice” and “Suicide Squad” is pretty damn easy. But rapturous reviews that name-check “The Dark Knight” and “Captain America: First Avenger“? That just might make Ben Affleck sad.

Here’s some of the initial reactions from Twitter:

Very pleased to report that #WonderWoman is the best DC movie since THE DARK KNIGHT. I’m already looking forward to seeing it again.

— Silas Lesnick (@silaslesnick) May 19, 2017

“The ‘Wonder Woman’ Embargo Has Lifted Twitter” is my favorite Twitter. Also: #WonderWoman is really damn good. Loved every minute.

— Rachel Simon (@Rachel_Simon) May 19, 2017

Loved WONDER WOMAN. She reminds me of Christopher Reeve’s Superman: true north superhero w/ no angst or cynicism, which is needed right now.

— Mike Ryan (@mikeryan) May 19, 2017

My reaction to @WonderWomanFilm : exciting, powerful, bold, epic, simply wonderful and – best of all – absolutely empowering.

— Courtney Howard (@Lulamaybelle) May 19, 2017

#WonderWoman is the easily the best DCEU movie so far. It’s got heart and a love of heroes. Pine and Gadot are charming beyond measure.

— Haleigh Foutch (@HaleighFoutch) May 19, 2017

I loved #WonderWoman so much. Easily one of the best superhero origin films I’ve ever seen. Amazing action & Gal Gadot is pure heaven pic.twitter.com/313ATzpC8x

— Jarett Wieselman (@JarettSays) May 19, 2017

@GalGadot is brilliant as #WonderWoman, so much emotion, sense of humor, and power.

— Mark Hughes (@markhughesfilms) May 19, 2017

Hey Hollywood, are you listening? Kick ass female director in @PattyJenks, kick ass female superhero @GalGadot More please! #WonderWoman

— JennaBusch (@JennaBusch) May 19, 2017

“Wonder Woman” opens June 2. It stars Gadot, Chris Pine, and Robin Wright. Patty Jenkins, who directed Charlize Theron to a Best Actress Oscar in “Monster,” directs.



Continue readingĀ  First Reviews of ‘Wonder Woman’ Are In: Is it the Best DC Movie Yet?